Bullied Teen Tells Story By Video, Takes Own Life

This is one of those instances where you just wonder, what the help is wrong with people?

Amanda Todd released a video on YouTube describing the bullying she endured and the downward spiral it led her to emotionally, mentally, and physically.

The body of the 15 year old was found in her home yesterday…she had taken her own life.
image

CNN tells her heartbreaking story

3 Responses to “Bullied Teen Tells Story By Video, Takes Own Life”


  1. 1 Victor Torres October 16, 2012 at 9:17 am

    As a parent of three beautiful children and a school counselor of 23 years, this saddens me deeply to hear of another bullied victim who took her life. I understand that children are cruel to the point that they can make a victim feel so depressed that they see no other way out other than to commit suicide. I don’t know how much dialogue was happening between this young girl and her parents and the bullies involved, the school counselor, principal, and vice-principal. This should have been addressed from the early stages.

    One thing that I try to teach my own children and the children that I work with is that we cannot allow others, especially bullies, to define us and control us. They don’t care about us, they don’t nurture our emotions. All they care about is putting others down so they can feel better about themselves. This is the story of my life as a child. I was bullied from kindergarten through my senior year in high school. I was jumped by 10 bullies in 7th grade. Later, I vowed to get back at the bullies through hard work in school and athletics. I learned to channel my anger in positive ways.

    Ultimately, I graduated with 4 university degrees, 3 community college credentials, would go on to earn 8 national awards for demonstrating leadership and excellence in the Counseling profession, and I became a 26-Time World Arm Wrestling Champion, 10-Time United States National Champion, 27-Time California State Champion, and a winner of 128 career arm wrestling titles right and left-handed. I also recently wrote a book called “Armed For Battle and Destined For Glory,” available through Amazon.com and my website, Armed4Battle.com. My book describes my victory and perseverance over the bullies who taunted me and assaulted me for all of my childhood. Needless to say, I got the last laugh!

    Besides being a School Counselor, I’m now a published author and my book was a Finalist at 2012 Global E-Book Awards for “Best Christian E-Book of the Year” and “Best Autobiography.” I was deeply humbled to be honored in such a special way because I know my story has and will continue to help many victims of bullying. I now do motivational speaking as well so I can get the word out about how important it is to not allow bullies to defeat us, but to use them as a steppingstone to our futures. In fact, at the beginning of my book, I even thanked the bullies who made my life a “living hell” because I used my negative experiences to help make me a better person as opposed to a bitter person. I will use the rest of my life to continue to get the word out to victims of bullying that life is worth living, that help is available, and that there is hope beyond the horizon.

    Sincerely,

    Victor Torres

    26-Time World Arm Wrestling Champion and an 8-Time National Award Recipient For Demonstrating Leadership & Excellence in the Counseling Profession.

  2. 3 Victor Torres (@VictorT02390193) October 17, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    You’re welcome. Keep up the great work with what you’re doing. God bless you!

    Sincerely, Victor Torres

    http://www.Armed4Battle.com


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,983 other followers

Jen Ennenbach

Follow Me!


